Hi All! The featured pic for this post is meant to make you all feel like “hey – I can do this!” Just put one foot in front of the other. I get lots of questions from people about simplifying the whole ketogenic thing. They find getting started very daunting so I thought I’d write a quick post with some links to sites with great resources and ideas to get you started. You can just bookmark this page of links and use it! Personally, I love using this recommended food list as starting point.

Some tips that really helped me are:

Make sure you have a plan for your breakfast. If I plan my breakfast in advance, I know I’ll at least get my day off to the right start. This has really made all the difference to me. I make a big batch of cookies and I have those with my coffee. I’m good to go and I have time to think about lunch if I don’t have a plan.

Keep a well stocked pantry of flavorful sugar-free spices and seasonings to dress up your dishes. Favorites of mine include:

Savory:

  • Smoked Paprika
  • Ancho Chili powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Garam Masala
  • Cumin
  • Coriander
  • Garlic Powder
  • Italian herb seasoning (includes rosemary, thyme, oregano and parsley)
  • Sea Salt
  • Multi colored peppercorns

Sweet

  • Vanilla Extract
  • Any nut extracts make things taste sweet
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Cocoa
  • Unsweetened dark chocolate
  • Coconut Oil
  • Coconut Manna

Fresh Staple Items:

  • Avocados
  • Whipping Cream
  • Butter
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Nut Butter
  • Protein
  • Green Veggies

Make sure you have some healthy sweetener alternatives for creating sweets to curb your cravings.

If you can, pick one day a week to make some one pot meals and freeze them. This will really help when you just don’t have the energy to cook a big meal. This also helps when you just don’t have any creative juices.

And that’s a segue into my next point! This isn’t really Keto but I personally struggle with going to restaurants and feeling included when people are indulging in cocktails or wine. Some suggestions I have in these situations would be to:

  • Look at the menu in advance so you can pick something on your plan
  • Ask the lovely service staff for help! Most people will appreciate you just telling them what it is you want and they can make recommendations.
  • Ask for anything you want on the menu without bread or with salad instead of fries. If you are worried about being satisfied, order extra protein or a side of aioli or extra cheese!
  • One of my favorite things to order at a nicer restaurant is a cheese board/charcuterie.
  • Don’t be embarrassed about your lifestyle. In my experience, if people are poking fun at you, it’s because they don’t have the will power you do! Plus, they should really be supportive if they are your friends.
  • Enter your meal choice into your diary or tracker before you go to the restaurant.

Keto Cocktail Choices (occasional) 🙂

  • Vodka Club Soda
  • Tequila Club Soda with a salt rim and lime (my fave)
  • Vodka or Gin Martini with olives (dry)
  • On the rocks or straight: whiskey, vodka, tequila and rum

Stick to what you want. Stick to your goal for the future you, not for the present moment. You’ll thank yourself later!